How Holy This Feast

During the summer of 1998, I attended a liturgical music composition seminar at St. John’s University (Collegeville, MN) with the late Richard Proulx.  Each of the participating composers had the opportunity to study privately with Richard, and to say that it changed my life would not be an understatement.  One of my self-directed projects was to compose a choral work in what I was then calling a minimalist style.  This motet grew out of that effort, and while it went in a slightly more elaborate direction, you can hear a touch of minimalism in the repetitive rhythm and slowly changing harmonies of the outer sections.  For unaccompanied SATB choir, it is available for purchase at giamusic.com.  One last note:  I once performed this successfully with a string quartet doubling the voice parts.

 ℗ 1999 GIA Publications, Inc.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment